Carson Palmer Would Rather Retire Than Play For the Bengals

“According to Tuesday’s report, Palmer said ‘I have $80 million in the bank. I don’t have to play football for money. I’ll play it for the love of the game but that would have to be elsewhere. I’m prepared to live my life.'”
-ESPN.com

I’ve only seen a few instances in my life where an athlete turns down guaranteed money to retire. In fact, Jake Plummer is the only one that comes to mind. Carson Palmer must really hate the Bengals (look at his face on the picture to the right).

http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=6172018

What do you think about this? Post in the comments

This entry was posted in NFL. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carson Palmer Would Rather Retire Than Play For the Bengals

  1. SemihErden says:

    Honestly, I think Palmer is playing hardball. When push comes to shove, don’t be surprised if he’s still in a Bengals uniform this year. Personally, I hope he’s back in his home-state of CA, throwing TDs to Crabtree and Davis.

  2. JiggaMan says:

    I think Palmer is being real right now. He could be a good look on the Niners (wishful thinking from a Bay kid? You might be right). This might be irrelevant if the NFL goes into love lockdown (or lockout). Either way, gotta love the trademark Trojan arrogance.

    – Jig

Leave a Reply

